A Glorious Adventure At 15,380 ft. – Rupin Pass Trek 2018

“Faith is like the Himalaya Mountains, which cannot possibly change.” – Mahatma Gandhi

IMG_4565

It has been over two years that I went for a Himalayan trek and my plans to go for Kedarkantha also got canned because of work. Restless, anxious and disappointed I was desperately looking for an opportunity to sate the wanderlust in me. I always prefer unexplored Himalayan treks over fancy holidays to beach or a metro city. One of my friends whom I met during Chadar Trek in 2016 informed about trek to Rupin Pass in May 2018. When asked for the details I got to know that it is a high altitude trek which we start in Uttrakand (Dhaula) and end the trek in Himachal Pradesh (Sangla). We walk about 65 kms in 7 days and gain a height of 15,280 ft. on summit day. And last but not the least the level of the trek is difficult with one of the biggest challenges being falling prey to AMS (Acute Mountain Sickness). I knew that this is the right opportunity to grab and so I started planning my work so that I could go for the trek. I started exercising as stamina and physical fitness are a pre-requisite for high altitude treks. And I sure was excited for my yearly Himalayan dose.

IMG_4413

The journey started from Jodhpur to Delhi on 11th where I met my fellow trekkers and we started for Dheradun by train and then to Dhaula by road. We reached Dhaula on 12th afternoon and this was our first base camp. Our guide briefed us about the trek that on an average we will walk 8-9 kms everyday and the level of difficulty will increase by every passing day as we gain altitude. The only way to beat AMS, as suggested by our trek leader, is to have at least 5-6 liters of water every day and avoid covering the ears and nose. Little scared but we were absolutely ready for the challenge as it was the ultimate test of our physical fitness and to witness what we had seen only in movies. The next day we left for a small village called Sewa which was a 6 hour walk. We saw beautiful river running on our right all time, lush green mountains and spectacular flora and fauna on our way to Sewa.

Our next camp site was at Udaknal via Jispun, this is the place we saw beautiful purple flowers. I clearly remember it was a starry night and after a brief discussion with my fellow trekkers we decided to wake up at 2:30 am to capture the milky – way. I have never seen something as beautiful as this. The more we admire universe, the more it surprises us with its colors.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our next destination was reaching the lower waterfall – Dhanderas Thatch which was at an altitude of 11,700 ft. This is where the actual trek started with all the challenges of AMS, I clearly remember having mild headache that day. A small acclimatization session was our everyday ritual and trek leaders taught us a few tricks to walk on snow as we would face snow patches quite frequently from next day.

IMG_4547

Our next camp site was at upper waterfall at a height of 13,300 ft. Cold breeze, snow covered mountains, and less greenery and steep slopes is what we faced to reach there. However, the difficulty and challenges were worth it as we reached our camp site. We interacted with other groups, played motivational songs, played our usual Mafia and UNO and mentally prepared ourselves for the big day tomorrow – Summit Day (15,380 ft.)!!

IMG_4575

We started as early as 6 am so that we could safely reach the Summit Point before the snow melts or weather becomes unfavorable. Winds blowing at minus temperatures and yet we were sweating because walking on snow that too on steep slow is a challenge. It was just snow all around and as far as we could see. The final climb was a dreadful climb at 70 degree; however with the words of motivation of our trek leaders we could overcome our fears and have a sense of accomplishment once we reached the Summit point. It was a challenging and a dream walk to Rupin Pass amidst snow, snowfall, hails and rains. The confidence and euphoria that we had on reaching the Summit point is beyond articulation. After spending good 20 minutes taking in the fact that we have successfully climbed the summit point, we started descending to reach Ronti Gad (13,100 ft.).

IMG_4616

We saw majestic Kinnaur Mountains at eye level at the camp site and started contacting our respective families that we are all fit and fine and would be meeting them soon. The next day we started for Sangla, from there we would leave for Shimla by road and then off to Delhi.

IMG_4641

Rupin Pass changed my entire perspective towards life!! Walking amidst the beautiful Himalayas, snow capped mountains and living out of the comfort zone made me realize how tiny we are when compared to this massive and beautiful world. The experience made me a bit more humble and kinder in life and more grateful for what I have. Rupin Pass is undoubtedly the most beautiful and most challenging trek of my life so far and a must do trek for all the adventurous and wanderlust souls.

DSC_0065

For more travel stories, follow me on Instagram –

https://www.instagram.com/thewholejingbang

Leave a comment